NASTT is pleased to offer its annual student scholarship program established in the memory of Michael E. Argent, who is recognized as one of the industry’s true visionaries and a motivating force behind the growth of trenchless technology. In 1990, Michael was one of five persons who founded NASTT. Through this scholarship program established in his memory, it is hoped that Michael’s contributions to the industry will continue to inspire young trenchless professionals.


Since 2010, NASTT has awarded up to five scholarships each year in the amount of $5,000 (US) each to eligible students who are members in good standing of a current student chapter of NASTT. The applicants must be enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited college, university or trade school for the 2019-2020 academic school year. Applicants must also meet certain eligibility requirements as outlined in the application information. Scholarship recipients must attend the NASTT No-Dig Show to be eligible to receive the scholarship award.

Application Deadline

Check back for information on the 2022 scholarship application. Click here for more information. 

Questions? Contact Jessie Clevenger, Regional Chapter Relations Manager.

2020 NASTT Scholarship Winners

Josiah Dehnke, Kent State University
Kyle LaRose, Oklahoma State University
Raj Magan, Indiana University Purdue University – Indianapolis (IUPUI)
Monica Samano, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Ian Walczak, Rutgers University

2019 NASTT Scholarship Winners

Ashkan Faghih, University of Alberta
Andrew Hayes, Clemson University
Jebadiah Kraft, Louisiana Tech
John Kraft, Louisiana Tech
Sarah Sargent, Oklahoma State University

2018 NASTT Scholarship Winners

Robert Cichocki, Queen’s University
Johnathan Grill, Montana Tech
Ryan Laborde, Louisiana Tech University- Trenchless Technology Center
Ashly Rieman, Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
Sarah Sargent, Oklahoma State University
Yezan Swaies, Vanderbilt University

2017 Scholarship Winners

Randall Castor, Oklahoma State University
Amr Fenais, Arizona State University
Johnathan Grill, Montana Tech
Moath Mohammed, Louisiana Tech University
Ali Rostami, University of Alberta

2016 Scholarship Winners

Urso Campos, Louisiana Tech University
Marco Regoli, Vanderbilt University
Samuel Schlinger, Arizona State University
Kate Wieczorek, Clemson University
Hamed Zamenian, Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)

2015 Scholarship Winners

Amanda Kerr, Arizona State University
Andrew Wallin, Vanderbilt University

2014 Scholarship Winners

Tober Francom, Arizona State University
Carrie Mouck, McGill University
Reza Navab-Kashani, University of Alberta
Caroleen Wilkes, Vanderbilt University
Hamed Zamenian, Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)

2013 Scholarship Winners

Maureen Cassin, Arizona State University
Lindsay Jenkins, Vanderbilt University
Carrie Murray, University of Alberta

2012 Scholarship Winners

Mohamed Almahakeri, Queen’s University
Samuel Betten, Vanderbilt University
Matthew Olsen, Arizona State University
Olalekan Sodeinde, Vanderbilt University
Stephen Welling, Virginia Tech

2011 Scholarship Winners

Sandria Brown, Bowling Green State University
Trupti Kulkarni, University of Texas at Arlington
Kazi Rahman, Queen’s University
Alison St. Clair, Virginia Tech University
Kristi Steiner, Virginia Tech University

2010 Scholarship Winners

Brad Carey, Arizona State University
Lalit Chilana, University of Texas at Arlington
Karl Elhen, McGill University
Sahar Hasan, University of Texas at Arlington
Eleazar Ivan Diaz-Loya, Louisiana Tech University
NASTT_Scholarship5 NASTT_Scholarship4 NASTT_Scholarship3 NASTT_Scholarship2 NASTT_Scholarship1 NASTT_Scholarship6