Honoring NASTT members who have made outstanding accomplishments and exceptional contributions to the advancement of the North American trenchless industry and NASTT.

Eligibility: Nominees can be current or former NASTT members who have been members for a minimum of 10 years and are age 50 or older. Nominees are eligible for consideration for three consecutive years. After three years, prior nominees are considered ineligible for the next two consecutive years.

Application: Nominations accepted online March through August. Only current NASTT members can submit nominations. A complete nomination must include:

+ Online Nomination Form – Be prepared to supply a nominee biography of up to 500 words and a description of achievements, honors and key contributions. If you are submitting the nomination to recognize a candidate posthumously, you will be asked to supply the name and email of a family contact.

+ Three letters of recommendation from NASTT members who know the nominee in diverse capacities and can discuss varied experiences or qualities.

+ Photo of the nominee
Directions for submitting the last two items are included on the form.

2020 inductees will be recognized at the 2021 No-Dig Show.

2022 nominations are now open! Click here to submit.

If you have any questions, contact membership@nastt.org.

  • 2020 – James S. Barbera (1940-2019)

    James “Jim” S. Barbera founded Barbco, a family-run manufacturing company, in 1989.

  • 2020 – Tom Marti

    Tom is Vice President, Engineering & Technology, for Underground Solutions, Inc.

  • 2020 – Lynn Osborn

    Lynn Osborn spent his entire professional career working in the water and wastewater industries.

  • 2019 – Maynard Akkerman

    Maynard Akkerman has dedicated his career to the principals of NASTT’s mission through trenchless underground construction equipment innovation and advocacy.

  • 2019 – Chris Macey

    Chris Macey has worked in the trenchless industry as a consultant, mentor, educator, and leader for over 40 years.

  • 2019 – Robert Westphal (1944-2020)

    Colleagues regard Bob as a true statesman in the construction industry.

  • 2018 – Chris Brahler

    Chris Brahler has been a leader in the underground and trenchless construction industries for over 40 years.

  • 2018 – Ian J. Doherty, B.A.Sc., P.Eng.

    Ian Doherty’s introduction to trenchless was the 1988 ISTT No-Dig Show, Washington about 30 years ago now.

  • 2018 – George Ragula

    George Ragula is a recognized leader in the industry and has spent the last 31 years of his 40 year career in the gas industry committed to the ever-growing technologies in trenchless construction.

  • 2017 – Joseph L. Abbott Jr. (1953-2010)

    Joseph L. Abbott Jr. had a distinguished resume of sewer rehabilitation experience.

  • 2017 – John Hemphill

    John Hemphill is the former Executive Director of both NASTT and ISTT.

  • 2017 – David T. (Tom) Iseley, Ph.D., P.E.

    Tom Iseley has a difficult time establishing when he was first introduced to the underground infrastructure industry but he does remember when he was first officially employed as a laborer on a sewer pipeline project.

  • 2017 – Roderick W. (Rod) Sutliff (1934-2014)

    From NASA Engineer to Underground Pipeline Inspection Innovator.

  • 2016 – Martin Cherrington

    Martin Cherrington conceived the use of Horizontal Directional Drilling as a practical alternative to conventional trenching methods beginning in the 1960’s.

  • 2016 – Ken Foster

    Over the past decades, Ken Foster has been a leading presence in the trenchless industry in Canada, the western United States and the United Kingdom.

  • 2016 – Richard Thomasson

    Richard Thomasson is the original Chair of NASTT and is one of the five individuals that founded the society in 1990.

  • 2015 – Ron Halderman (1947-2020)

    Ron Halderman graduated from the Colorado School of Mines and for the past 35 years has been working in the drilling industry.

  • 2015 – David Magill, Jr. (1943-2014)

    David Magill, Jr. was a pioneer in the chemical grout industry and was the first President of Avanti International, a company that he championed for over thirty years.

  • 2015 – Kaleel Rahaim

    Kaleel Rahaim is a graduate Chemical Engineer from Mississippi State University.

  • 2014 – Robert Affholder

    Robert Affholder is a trenchless industry pioneer who continues to play a leading role 50-plus years later as vice chairman of SAK Construction.

  • 2014 – Joseph Loiacono

    Joseph Loiacono, P.Eng, has been involved with trenchless technologies since 1989 when he attended his first No-Dig Conference in London.

  • 2014 – Dr. Ray Sterling

    Dr. Ray Sterling, P.E., is professor emeritus at Louisiana Tech University, where from 1995 to 2009 he served as the director of its Trenchless Technology Center.

  • 2013 – Dr. David Bennett

    Dr. Dave Bennett is the owner and president of Bennett Trenchless Engineers, a specialty engineering consulting firm in Folsom, CA that focuses 100% on trenchless pipeline design, CM, and expert services.

  • 2013 – Ed Malzahn (1921-2015)

    Edwin Malzahn is the founder and Chairman of the Board for The Charles Machine Works, Inc. located in Perry, OK.

  • 2013 – Eric Wood (1935-1994)

    Eric Wood, born in South Yorkshire England, may have started out as a simple agricultural engineer, but his knack for invention served as the catalyst to create an entire industry.

  • 2012 – Frank Canon

    Frank started with Baroid, in the oilfield, in 1975. After training in Houston, he was transferred to the Rocky Mountains where he worked for 14 years, living in New Mexico, Wyoming , and Colorado.

  • 2012 – Bernie Krzys

    Bernard P. Krzys is the founder of Benjamin Media, Inc., publishers of Compact Equipment, NASTT Trenchless Today, North American Oil & Gas Pipelines, Solar Builder/Wind Builder, Trenchless Technology, TBM: Tunnel Business Magazine, Utility Contractor and Water Utility Infrastructure Management (UIM).

  • 2012 – Gary Vermeer (1918-2009)

    Gary J. Vermeer was the founder and chairman of Vermeer Corporation (previously known as Vermeer Manufacturing Company), located in Pella, Iowa.